Customer Reviews

Actual Discus.com Customer Reviews, Ratings, & Tank Photos

Our wonderful community and loyal customer base is what makes us as great as we are. We are in the process of porting over hundreds of reviews (both positive and negative) from our old platform. Check back often.

Here is an unboxing video one of our customers, Suzanne T. from Canton GA made of her experience. Her full tank photo and written review may be viewed here.

1 2 ... 13
reviews-images
DAVID MAARS, Branford, CT (Verified Customer) February 9, 2020
I just ordered 6 of these penang discus. Mike did a great job to make sure i received them for Saturday delivery. this was my first time buying from him. the fish were the best quality I have ever seen. I will definitely buy from him again.
reviews-images
Lester P., Edison, NJ (Verified Customer) January 20, 2020

Yep that's a lot of writing but this has been planned for awhile and I'm very excited to monitor plant growth and the rest of my deliveries. I'm very much looking forward to seeing how this tank progresses, as I also maintain a 45G high-tech Dutch style tank that I'm also growing out. That's where I've placed the pogostemon helferi, expecting a carpet in the coming months. I also attached a picture of my Dutch tank if you're interested. That's an entirely different project I'm working on.

reviews-images
Lester P., Edison, NJ (Verified Customer) January 20, 2020

Right now I'm setting up a modest 20G long blackwater tank, with as many cryotocoryne species I can physically stuff into it. So far I have nearly 40 different cryptocryne species and variants ordered for the aquarium, with a lot of help from you. The substrate is ADA Amazonia II capped with Seachem Flourite Red. I ordered from Tannin Aquatics two weeks ago and I will have additional substrate and dried material that will arrive on Monday so I can finally add tannins to the water column. Additionally I added red rooter floaters phyllanthus fluitans, tri-color lotus nymphaea micrantha gefleckt and ludwigia sedoides to serve as floaters to allow for more dynamic and contrasting shadows. Also, the driftwood has attached a bunch of fissiden fontanus moss and two homalomena plants. By design, I anticipate the aquarium to be overrun with bushes and floaters. To ensure that the plants still get adequate growth with all the tannins and floating plants in the water column, I have two 21W Nicrew lights outputting at around 200 PAR currently and CO2 injection. Eventually I want to add a pair of wild betta species, hopefully Betta macrostoma as well as two samurai gourami and a small school of crystal tetras. 

reviews-images
Jesse H. Mebane, NC (Verified Customer) January 28, 2020

The Discus I purchased arrived right on time.
First of all, the level of detail you guys put into the packaging was heads above from other online sites I have purchased from in the past.
I was immediately more than impressed upon seeing my Discus for the first time!
These Discus were much larger than I had anticipated!
Their colors were already popping right out of the bags, and they very healthy!
It’s very clear that you guys have a real passion in caring for the fish you sell.
I could not be more pleased with my Discus!
Thank you, and look forward to future purchases exclusively from discus.com!

reviews-images
Gregg Q., Little Rock, AK (Verified Customer) January 16, 2020

They arrived yesterday and thank you for asking and I will send you a picture.  I’m a little concerned I lost one?  But my niece, who has much better eyes than myself, thinks it’s possibly a leaf caught in the filter.  But most are very deep blue; however, a couple’s bodies are somewhat translucent.  After this many tetras, additional substrate and plants - I think my tank will only be able to hold two discus (and I will have to pray to get lucky on getting a male and female).  My tank is a 46 gallon bow front with two hanging “Marineland Emperor 400 gallon” filters.  At one time I had three mature discus in it and they were a little crowded.  However, I did get fry several times, but the female always ate them once they were free swimming (heart breaking!). I am interested in two small discus (3 inches, thereabouts) and want some color and stripes, and a two small plecos - one with gold spots and one with white spots.  And I am open to any and all suggestions.  Thank you for checking on things and will send a picture directly.  Gregg

reviews-images
Randy O., Battle Creek, MI (Verified Customer) January 15, 2020

Beautiful discus! Exactly as described.

reviews-images
Grady T., McKinney, TX (Verified Customer) January 12, 2020

I appreciate your following up.  I had been planning to write you to ask what you feed the discus.  The green alenquer (for the most part) sits back when I feed them.   He comes out some so does not appear to be distressed - just not eating as much as I would think he would.   (I feed a mixture of dry and frozen, but on Saturday gave them live brine shrimp which everybody but the green enjoyed).

I am attaching a picture of the set up.  It is 84 degrees, infused with CO2, 6.6-6.9 pH (normally), but still having plant and algae issues.   Hoping the Nerites you sent will take care of that.

reviews-images
Gerardo R., Rupert, ID (Verified Customer) December 20, 2019

The fish are really big nice and fat they look healthy and share the tank with my golden sunrise which doesn't compare in size. My favorite are the penangs and altum flora the body shape is very pretty

reviews-images
Bradley H., Fayetteville, NC (Verified Customer) December 5, 2019

They are laying eggs already. They chose the log over the cone though, lol.

reviews-images
Michael K., Jupiter, FL (verified customer) December 9, 2019

The fish are doing great they are high body and they are beautiful they're a little smaller than I expected I know they cost more so that's okay if they're little smaller but they're eating and happy and I'm happy thank you very much.

1 2 ... 13